-A +A

Blood Service Board

Printer-friendly version

Hon Dr David Hamill AM - Chairman

David Hamill - ChairmanPhD, MA, BA (Hons), FCIT, FAIC

  • Former Treasurer of Queensland
  • Director, Brookfield Infrastructure Partners LP
  • Chair, Gladstone Airport Corporation
  • Former Chair, Envirogen Pty Ltd
  • Chair, Ensham Workers’ Entitlements Fund Pty Ltd
  • Member, the Australian Red Cross Board
  • Chair, UQ College

Ms Jennifer Williams – Chief Executive

Jennifer Williams - Chief Executive


  • Chief Executive of the Blood Service
  • Councillor, LaTrobe University Council
  • Delegate, Goulbourn Valley Health Board
  • Former, Chief Executive of Alfred Health
  • Former, Chief Executive of Austin Health
  • Councillor, LaTrobe University Council
  • Delegate, Goulburn Valley Health Board
  • Former, Commissioner, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  • Former, Director, Mental Health Research Institute
  • 1995 Victorian Business Woman of the Year – Public Sector Category

Mr Nigel Ampherlaw

Nigel Ampherlaw


  • Director, CUA (since March 2011)
  • Chair, CUA Risk Committee and Technology Committee
  • Member, CUA Audit Committee and Strategy  Committee
  • Member Strategy Committee
  • Director, Quickstep Technologies Ltd
  • Director, Grameen Foundation Australia
  • Former Partner of PwC for 22 years

Ms Sandy Chakravarty

CPA, MBA, MEcon, BEcon, MAICDSandy Chakravarty - Board member

  • Chief Financial Officer of the Australian Red Cross Society
  • Head of Asia-Pacific Finance & Global Field Operations and International Controller of The Boston Consulting Group
  • Vice President Asia-Pacific of Ingersoll Rand
  • Finance Director of Bristol-Myers Squibb (Australia and Asia)
  • Board Member of National Association of Women in Operations
  • Member, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Ms Hannah CrawfordHannah Crawford

BCom, LLB, CA, FFin

  • Former Director, Grant Samuel & Associates Pty Ltd
  • Board Member, Alfred Health
  • Former Board Member, Queen Elizabeth Centre
  • Former Manager, Arthur Andersen Corporate Finance
  • Former Tax Consultant, Ernst & Young

Dr David Graham

Dr David Graham - Board member

B.Pharm, FPS, Ph.D, FAICD

  • Retired from the Australian Public Service most recently as the National Manager, Therapeutic Goods Administration
  • Previous roles included the manager of CRS Australia, the Commonwealth Ageing and Aged Care program and the Commonwealth Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme
  • Currently Board member, Arthritis Australia (ACT) and of Arthritis Australia
  • Adjunct professor, RMIT University
  • Chair, ISO Technical Committee

Ms Kelly Jones

Kelly Jones - Board member


  • Director, Hunter Primary Care Ltd. 
  • Former Director and Chair, Citrus Australia
  • Former Director, NICTA
  • Former General Manager, Technology, NAB
  • Former CIO, Deutsche Bank
  • Former Managing Consultant, IBM
  • Former CIO and Chief Manager, ANZ Bank

Associate Professor Larry McNicol

Associate Professor Larry McNicol


  • Director of Anaesthesia, Austin Health
  • Medical Director, Anaesthesia, Perioperative and Intensive Care Clinical Service Unit, Austin Health
  • Chairman, Victorian Consultative Council for Anaesthetic Mortality and Morbidity (VCCAMM), Department of Health, Victoria
  • Chairman of the Mortality Subcommittee of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA)

  • Member of the ANZCA Quality and Safety Committee
  • Member of Expert Working Group (EWG) for the National Blood Authority (NBA) Patient Blood Management (PBM) Guidelines Review
  • Chairman of the Clinical Reference Group (CRG) for Critical Bleeding/Massive Transfusion and Perioperative Modules of the PBM Guidelines

Mr Ross PinneyRoss Pinney


  • Former senior executive, National Australia Bank Ltd
  • Deputy President, Australian Red Cross
  • Member, Finance Commission of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent
  • Chair, Rural Bank Ltd

Professor John Zalcberg OAM

Professor John Zalcberg OAM


  • Former Director, Division of Cancer Medicine, Peter MacCallum Centre
  • Former Chief Medical Officer and Executive Director Cancer Medicine, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
  • Executive Director Cancer Medicine, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
  • Chair, Australasian Gastro-Intestinal Trials Group
  • Honorary Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Monash University
  • Professor of Cancer Research, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine (SPHPM), Monash University
  • Member, Board of Cancer Trials Australia
  • Honorary Associate of the Clinical Trials Centre, School of Public Health, University of Sydney
  • Co-Chair of the Cancer Drugs Alliance
  • Former Member. Consultative Council of the Victorian Cancer Agency
  • Former Member, Board of cancer Institute NSW
  • Former President, Clinical Oncological Society of Australia
  • 2011 Medical Oncology Group of Australia, Cancer Achievement Award recipient

Mrs Gabrielle Hewitson - SecretaryGabrielle Hewitson - Secretary

BSc, Grad Dip Bus Admin, GAICD, ACIS, ACSA

  • Australian Red Cross Blood Service Secretary
  • Previous appointments in Australian Red Cross Blood Service include Assistant Board Secretary and Distribution Manager at Australian Red Cross Blood Service Victoria
  • Member of Governance Institute of Australia