Australian Red Cross Lifeblood is governed by a board of nine non-executive members and one executive member, the Chief Executive. Our Board reports to the Australian Red Cross Board, which has overall responsibility and oversight and appoints all non-executive board members.

Board members are generally appointed for a three-year term, but may be eligible for reappointment. Along with the generic skills that are required for most boards, our Board’s skills matrix includes knowledge and experience of the health sector, transfusion medicine, manufacturing in a highly regulated environment, and government relations and policy.

Our Board plays a vital role in ensuring the good governance of Lifeblood. It's responsible for the organisation’s efficient operation and takes the lead in setting the culture of how we operate in a responsible way within the community.  It oversees the organisation’s strategic direction, financial and operational activities and risk management.


Mr Jim Birch AM - Chairman


  • Chairman, Clevertar Pty Ltd 
  • Deputy Chair, Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
  • Director, Cancer SA
  • Director, Little Company of Mary Health Care (Calvary)
  • Former chair, Australian Digital Health Agency 
  • Former Member, Independent Advisory Council of the PCEHCR
  • Former Global Health Leader, Ernst and Young
  • Former Government and Public Sector Leader, Ernst and Young
  • Former Lead Partner, Health and Human Services, Asia Pacific Ernst and Young
  • Independent Consultant
  • Former Chief Executive, Department of Health, SA
  • Former Chief Executive, Department of Human Services, SA
  • Former Deputy Chief Executive, Department of Justice, SA
  • Former Chief Executive Officer, Women’s and Children’s Hospital, Adelaide

Shelly Park

Ms Shelly Park - Chief Executive

MSc (Ashridge), BA Nursing, GAICD, FAIM, Fellow Ethical Leadership

  • Former Chief Executive, Monash Health (Southern Health)
  • Former Executive Director, Monash Medical Centre, Clayton and Moorabbin (Southern Health)
  • Former General Manager, Canterbury District Health Board (Christchurch, New Zealand)
  • Previous roles included, Group Manager, Director and clinical roles in aged care, women’s health and nursing in Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Director, Kitaya Holdings Board Pty Ltd

Nigel Ampherlaw

Mr Nigel Ampherlaw


  • Chair, CUA Ltd – Member of Board Strategy Committee, Chair of CCI Ltd.
  • Director, Quickstep Technologies Ltd, Chair of Audit and Risk Committee
  • Director, Elanor Investors Ltd - Chair of Audit & Risk Committee, Member of Remuneration & Nominations Committee
  • Director, Grameen Foundation Australia
  • Former Partner of PwC

Dr Christopher Baggoley

Professor Christopher Baggoley, AO

BVSc (Hons), BMBS, B Soc Admin, DUniv (Flinders) FACEM, FIFEM, FRACMA

  • Chief Medical Advisor, Calvary Care 
  • Professorial Fellow, School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, Flinders University
  • Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Adelaide
  • Former Australian Government Chief Medical Officer from 2011-2016
  • Former Chief Executive Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  • Former Executive Director Public Health and Clinical Coordination Department of Health - SA
  • Former Chief Medical Officer Department of Health - SA

Hannah Crawford

Ms Hannah Crawford


  • Former Director, Grant Samuel & Associates Pty Ltd
  • Former Board member, Alfred Health
  • Former Board member, Queen Elizabeth Centre
  • Former manager, Arthur Andersen Corporate Finance
  • Former Tax Consultant, Ernst and Young

Dr Lance Emerson

Dr Lance Emerson

  • Chief Executive Officer, Victorian Agency for Health Information
  • Former Company Secretary and Chief Executive Officer, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia
  • Former Board Director and Chief Executive Officer, Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth
  • Former Board of Management, The Climate and Health Alliance
  • Former Chair, Public Health Association (ACT)


Ms Julie Fahey

  • Director, Seek
  • Director, IRESS
  • Director, Vocus
  • Board Member Datacom
  • Board Member PartnersLife
  • Board Member Yooralla
  • Board Member CenlTex
  • Independent Consultant
  • Former Managing Partner – Markets, KPMG
  • Former Information Technology and Telecommunications Leader, KPMG

Jenni Mack

Ms Jenni Mack

M Admin Law and Policy; BA Journalism, GAICD, Grad Cert International Food Law and Regulation, GAIST, Grad Cert Applied Finance

  • Chair CoACT
  • Director, Sunsuper
  • Director Food Standards Australia and New Zealand
  • Chair dRx Standards Council
  • Member Health Star Rating Advisory Committee
  • Former Chair CHOICE, ASIC External Advisory Panel



Mrs Gabrielle Hewitson – Board Secretary

BSc, Grad Dip Bus Admin, GAICD, AGIA, ACIS

  • Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Secretary
  • Previous appointments in Australian Red Cross Lifeblood include Assistant Secretary and Distribution Manager, Victoria
  • Member of Governance Institute of Australia

Professor Robyn Ward


  • Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health, University of Sydney
  • Chair, Medical Services Advisory Committee, Commonwealth Department of Health
  • Member, Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee, Commonwealth Department of Health
  • Former Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Queensland
  • Former Board Member, Cancer Institute NSW
  • Former Director of Cancer Services, South East Sydney Local Health District


Committee Members

Committees may have members who are not on the Board.

Advisory Committee:

Associate Professor Larry McNicol AO (Chair), Associate Professor Craig French, Professor James Isbister, Associate Professor Rob Lindeman, Dr Darryl Maher, Dr Ellen Maxwell, Associate Professor David Roxby, Mr Daryl Teague, Professor John Zalcberg OAM, Dr Matthew O'Sullivan, Professor Robyn Ward

Ethics Committee:

Professor Lesley Barclay (Chair), Ms Jacqui Preston, Mr Andrew Greaves, Dr Susan MacCallum, Rev Greg Woolnough, Professor John Gibson, Dr Bronwyn Williams, Dr Penelope Robinson, Mr David Hyde, Dr John Kwan

Finance & Audit Committee:

Ms Hannah Crawford (Chair), Mr Nigel Ampherlaw, Dr Lance Emerson, Mr Peter Lewinsky

Nomination & Remuneration Committee:

Mr Jim Birch AM (Chair), Mr Ron Berenholtz, Associate Professor Larry McNicol AO, Ms Shelly Park

Risk Committee:

Ms Jenni Mack (Chair), Mr Nigel Ampherlaw, Mr Jim Birch AM, Ms Julie FaheyMs Shelly Park

Governance Policy

Read our Good Governance Principles Policy

Back to top